Why reviewing is hard

Of course I am limited in what I review. Specifically I review and write mostly about video games, and that is something that is far more difficult than you might imagine.

You have to remember that if you work in a field that has ravenous fans, let the video games industry, than those fans will scrutinize your work incredibly closely. If you give an entry into a much beloved franchise a low score, than be prepared for criticism in social media. Such is the way of the world.

Honestly I am not as involved in sites like Twitter or Facebook as often as someone who is trying to be successful in this field should be and it can be incredibly problematic. Maybe that helps with the reviews I write as it prevents me from being influenced by the fans and what they have to say on the matter.

Of course with the dust-up over gamergate, reviewers and writers in video games are being watched very closely for any signs of impropriety.

One thing I can say, though I am in no way commenting on gamergate, is that I do try my best to be fair in my reviews. Currently I am preparing to write a review for Leviathyn.com all about the latest edition of Smash, Super Smash Bros for the Wii U. I’ve already written a review for the 3DS, so this is basically a follow up to that piece. I can say that I highly enjoyed the 3DS version, and so far love what the Wii U installment has to offer.

What will my final score be in the end? Who knows as there is still so much to discover before I will post the final product on the site. But I do know that by posting my opinion, there are people I may upset. Again this in no way suggests what my score will be, only that to review something people love is something one most understand is dicey at best.

Leave a comment